Madison Hawkins- Where do you draw the line?

Posted: January 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

After watching the documentary “ Born Rich”, the thoughts that I had about ‘spoiled’ rich kids holds true. However, I do have to say that while watching the film I did feel sympathy for many of them as they are treated so differently in society. It was almost as though they were searching for something more. They wanted to be accepted for somebody besides the kid with money. Most of them wanted to do more with their lives, and make a living on their own outside of the family business. Which I thought was admirable of them. However, what I did not realize was the stupidity of their wealthy parents. It is understandable to want to share your wealth with your children, but there should be a limit.

One of the males in the video discussed how he started experimenting with drugs (LSD to be exact) in the sixth grade. No child in grade 6 should even have the money to buy that type of drug. Shouldn’t these parents of muti-million some multi-billion companies be more intelligent than to be giving a sixth grader enough money to buy drugs? I guess it is just a different lifestyle than I am use to.

I was given an allowance as a child, which would allow me to buy particular “in” merchandise and go to movies with my friends. I guess getting an allowance large enough to buy LSD would be the “normal” amount for a child who attends private school and is in the social circle of other ‘rich’ kids. It’s just where to do you draw the line?

Comments
  1. Faiza Minhas says:

    I totally agree with you in terms of the general perceptions one has about wealthy families and wealthy kids, in particular. People from a lower socioeconomic status, including me, would assume that a spoiled child, who has enough money to buy whatever he/she want, could not ask for more. However, there are always two sides of a coin. We tend to forget that money does not always equal to happiness or satisfaction. As one of the girls in the documentary commented on a person’s perception about connecting money to happiness, many of us overlook the fact that just like us, wealthy people also acquire other necessities of life, such as love, peace, quality of life, and a strong social support system. All these things cannot necessarily be bought with money.
    One of the most common downsides of being rich that the wealthy seem to complain about is the fact that they feel isolated, and that others foremost judge them based on their financial status. Whereas most people aspire to be rich, the rich sometimes wish to be treated like everyone else, and feel included and accepted.

  2. ct340blog says:

    Hi Madison and Faiza,

    After I saw that scene in the film, it made me wonder if those ‘rich kids’ were just acting out as an act of desperation. Trying to get a reaction or attention from their parents…

    I was reminded of an experience I had a few years ago when I coached high school rugby. Some of the players on the team were from ‘HCC’ families. I can recall one day after practice walking with one of the players through the school parking lot. As we approached our vehicles, I noticed this players BMW M3 (a gift from his father) and had commented on how ‘awesome’ it was. He replied back saying “Thanks Mr. Drake, but you know something… I would give this car away to have at least 15 minutes of time with my Dad”.

    Colin Drake

  3. ct340blog says:

    Hey there,

    I thought it was relatively significant when one of the individuals in the film, noted that they wouldn’t know what to do if they lost their fortune, and that they depend on it so much in their life. From hearing this, to me, this shows that their parents exceeded the line and have gone too far, to the point that their child must now have access to this money in order to go on in their life at this high rich lifestyle.
    These heirs or heiress’s should not simply be given the money and have no life goals for themselves, but should paint the picture of their own life: get an education, have a profession, as well as having access to their inheritance, but not to the point where they rely on it so much. Maybe they should think of a back up plan in case they do lose their fortune.

    Taylor Crozier

Leave a Reply

