Fiske Assignment- Kayla Kempkes

Posted: February 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

In my shopping adventure this past weekend I noticed a few things.  The older people in the mall all congregated toward the food court and when they were walking around just seemed to be window shopping or doing some “proletarian shopping”.  I noticed that the teenagers were also doing the same thing.  But instead of heading toward the food court they were all looking at the stores around the movie theater waiting for it to open.  Other than these people it was a bunch of parents with children trying to get in and out of the mall as fast as possible.  When I was younger it was the same situation in the mall.  The older people still congregated in the food court and the teenagers would all window shop and maybe buy the odd thing.

I also noticed that of the parents who were with children a lot of them were single mothers.  This doesn’t surprise me in the least as the mall in my city is geared towards women.  This article made me realize how there are no stores in the mall that are centered towards either males or children except for maybe the movie theater even though that is for anyone.  This mall also made me realize how much women dominate the retail world. I can’t understand why there are so many fashion options for women in the mall but yet none for anyone else. For me I believe there should be options so people don’t have to drive to London to go shopping even though most people, me included, do go to London to go shopping for anything because the selection is so much greater.

Leave a comment