Sarah Kagan- Quiz 2

Posted: October 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

After last week’s class it really got me thinking… Why do we love shopping so much? I analyzed my shopping habits and realized I was in the mall atleast once a week, maybe even more. Most of the time I went, it was because I was “bored”, other times because I needed to purchase a particular product. In some cases these products would be a necessity such as toothpaste or toilet paper, other times it would be a new shirt for the weekend. In every instance it didn’t matter what I needed to buy, I always found myself browsing and looking at things I really didn’t need. This is described as fiske’s theory of proletarian shopping or “window shopping”.

This past week I was at the mall to pick up some accessories for my halloween costume… by the end of my shopping experience I was walking out with multiple bags.. most of which had nothing to do with what I originally needed. This just goes to show how easy it is to get drawn into each store and buy material goods we really don’t need.

Leave a Reply

